Assembly 2015 - Tree of Life: Root, Fruit, Scar

Friday, April 24, 2015 to Sunday, April 26, 2015


The 2015 Oregon Synod Assembly took place at the Sunriver Resort in Sunriver, Oregon with the theme Tree of Life: the Root, the Fruit, the Scar.

This year we introduced the Guidebook app for information and interaction. You can view photos of the event that attendees submitted at

Two resolutions were considered by the assembly. The full text of each is available on the resolutions page. Both were passed.


Worship offerings from both services currently stand at $6,716 and counting. These funds will be split evenly between Tent of Nations and NeighborImpact.

Proceeds from this year's quilt auction totaled $2,080 ($2,575 as of May 7th), and will benefit ELCA World hunger.


Elections results for synod council and committees, and for Oregon's churchwide assembly voting members are below. Congratulations to all who were elected!

Position Name Congregation

Synod Council

Blue Mountain Cluster Neva DeMayo Hope, Heppner
Member at Large Rachel Kramer (re-elected) Trinity, Gresham
Mt. Hood Cluster Greg Shea Trinity, Gresham
PLUM Cluster Bonnie Beadles-Bohling (re-elected) Central, Portland
Secretary Leslie Wong First Immanuel, Portland
Sunset Cluster Rev. David Eppelsheimer Community of ChristChurch, Hillsboro
Vice President Deborah Chenoweth (re-elected) Asbury/Our Redeemer, Hood River

Synod Endowment Board

  Mark Dickman Immanuel, Silverton
  Megan Webber St. Andrew, Beaverton
  Dr. Lynn Ries Christ, Aurora
  Rev. Jane Baker Faith, Roseburg

Synod Committees

Consultation Committee Bruce Anderson Zion, La Grande
Discipline Committee Rev. Lorin Darst Macksburg, Canby

PLU  Board

Crater Lake Cluster, Lay Janice Hamann Hope, Klamath Falls

Churchwide Assembly Voting Members

  Sonia Krissie Gloria Dei, Coos Bay
  Stan Ihori Joyful Servant, Newberg
  Roseta Akin Augustana, Portland
  Bonnie Beadles-Bohling Central, Portland
  Rachel Kramer Trinity, Gresham
  Rev. Barbara Punch Our Savior's, Prineville
  Matthew Smith Salt and Light, Portland
  Rev. Scott Dunfee St. Stephen, Gladstone
Alternate Joel Eichler Mt. Carmel, Portland